For Immediate Release: January 5th, 2004

The judges of the 2003 Philip K. Dick Award and the Philadelphia SF Society are pleased to announce six nominated works that comprise the final ballot for the award:

HYPERTHOUGHT by M. M. Buckner (Ace Books)
CLADE by Mark Budz (Bantam Spectra)
DANTE’S EQUATION by Jane Jensen (Del Rey)
ALTERED CARBON by Richard K. Morgan (Del Rey)
SPIN STATE by Chris Moriarty (Bantam Spectra)
STEEL HELIX by Ann Tonsor Zeddies (Del Rey)

First prize and any special citations will be announced on Friday, April 9, 2004 at Norwescon 27 at the Doubletree Seattle Airport Hotel, SeaTac, Washington.

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the award ceremony is sponsored by the NorthWest Science Fiction Society. Last year’s winner was THE MOUNT by Carol Emshwiller (Small Beer Press) with a special citation to THE SCAR by China Miéville (Del Rey). The 2003 judges are Stephen L. Burns, Suzy McKee Charnas, Craig Jacobsen (chair), Richard Parks, and Janine Ellen Young.

The official award site is: